Can I revert back to the old Signal Desktop?
Yes. If the new Signal Desktop is not available for your computer, you can go back to using the old version of Signal Desktop. Everyone will need to make the jump soon because Chrome Apps will no longer run in 2018 and upcoming versions of Signal will only be available via the new distribution and update method. We're initially launching with APT packages for the production and beta channels, but we may expand to other Linux platforms in the future.
Steps to go back to the old Signal Desktop
Remove the new Signal Desktop.
- Mac OSX: Delete the Signal.app file from the applications directory.
- Windows: Select 'Uninstall Signal.exe' in C:\Users\<Your Name>\AppData\Local\Programs\signal-desktop
apt-get remove signal-desktop