Message Compose - Access by tapping on
This lets you initiate a new conversation or invite a new user via a mobile number. Contacts listed are entries from your iOS contact list who are Signal users.
- Search bar - This allows you to search for a contact or input a number.
- Invite Friends to Signal - Tap to invite your contacts to Signal through SMS messages or email. After choosing message or mail, you will be brought to a list of your contacts to choose from.
- Selecting a contact - This opens a conversation thread where you can choose to type a message or start a call.
- - Tap to start a group chat.
Inbox - All new messages will be displayed here.
You can slide the conversation to the LEFT to display options of Archive and Delete.
Archive - Place to store messages so they are not viewed in your inbox.
If you archived a conversation thread and then make any updates to the thread or group, the message will move to the inbox.
- To archive messages, view the inbox, select a conversation, slide the conversation to the left and choose the gray square that shows 'Archive'.
- To unarchive, go to the 'Archive view', slide the conversation to the left and choose the gray square that shows 'Unarchive'.
Access settings by tapping on the wheel in the top left corner of the app.
Settings > Registered Number
This area displays your phone number used to register for this instance of Signal.
Settings > Invite Your Friends
Tap to invite your contacts to Signal through SMS messages or email.
Settings > Privacy
This displays Privacy options.
- Enable Screen Security - When enabled, this shows a blue screen with the Signal logo if the iOS home button is double clicked and you are looking through your list of running apps.
- Always Relay Calls - When enabled, this relays all calls through the Signal server to avoid revealing your IP address to your contact. Enabling will reduce call quality.
- iOS Call Integration - When enabled, this shows Signal calls on your lock screen and in the system's call history. If iCloud is enabled, this call history will be shared with Apple.
- Show caller's Name & Number - This is only an option if iOS Call Integration is enabled. When enabled, this shows the name and number of your Signal calls on your lock screen and in the phone's call history. If disabled, "Signal User" will be displayed on the lock screen and call history.
- Clear History logs - Selecting this deletes your entire chat history inclusive of messages, attachments, and call history. An alert will pop up to confirm you want to perform this action as this can not be undone.
- Require Approval on Change - When enabled, this requires your approval before communicating with someone who has a new safety number, commonly from a reinstall of Signal.
Settings > Notifications
This displays notification options.
- Show - Tap to see options of how much detail you want shown in your notifications bar or lock screen. The options are Sender name & message, Sender name only, or No name or message. Other notification alerts are handled through iOS device Settings > Signal > Notifications.
- Notification Sounds - This is to control sounds for each incoming message or outgoing message for when Signal is opened and focused on. Controlling notification sounds for when the app is closed or running in the background can be handled through iOS device Settings > Signal > Notifications > Sounds.
Settings > Linked Devices
This is to start a link with or view already linked Signal Desktop instances. Up to 3 Signal Desktop instances can be linked.
- Link New Device - Choose to scan the QR code when prompted by your install of Signal Desktop.
Settings > Advanced
This displays advanced options.
- Enable Debug Log - When allowed, the app will save low-level information about performance and connecting to our servers. This is used for resolving issues with the app. If you did not have debug logs enabled while an issue occurred then nothing was recorded and there is nothing to submit.
- Submit Debug Log - If you've enabled debug logs prior to experiencing an issue, you can submit a log to help us resolve the issue.
- Re-register for push notifications - Tapping on this re-registers you for push notifications and is recommended for anyone who experiences delays in receiving notifications.
Settings > About
This displays information about Signal.
- Version - Tells you which version of Signal iOS you are using.
- Support - Opens a webpage that links to this support forum.
Settings > Delete Account
We don't want to see you go, but this is the feature to use if you really want to delete all your messages and unregister your number. Tap on Delete Account and you will be given another prompt to Cancel or Proceed. The app will close after all data is deleted.