If you have a new iPhone
- All new messaging and calling will be handled by this new phone.
- A new install of Signal also generates a new safety number with your contacts.
- An iTunes or iCloud backup does not contain any of your message history. Only new messages, not conversation history, will be displayed.
If you have a new phone number
- Leave all groups.
You may want to notify your group members that you will be leaving the group and will need them to add your new number to the group.
- Unregister your Signal number.
This will prevent you from missing messages until your contacts update their phones with your new number.
- Reinstall with your new number.
- Ask your contacts to add your new number to the groups that you left.
- Re-link any instances of Signal Desktop.
If you changed your phone number and no longer have access to it
- Follow steps from If you have a new iPhone above.
- Just as you would do this for your non-Signal contacts who only send you SMS, tell your Signal contacts about your new number and ask them to delete the old number so there is no confusion.
- Messages and calls to your old number will go undelivered. If someone were to register with that old number on a new phone, then they will have an empty message history. If your contacts then communicate with that old number, they will be made aware of a safety number change.
Learn what to do if your phone is lost or stolen, how to get started on Signal iOS, how to register on Signal iOS, how to get started on Signal Android, how to get started on Signal Desktop, or how to set up disappearing messages.