You can transfer message history from one iOS device to another iOS device without using the Secure Backups feature. This requires having both devices. When the transfer is complete, your message history is moved to your new device and deleted from your old device.
Requirements
- You must have the old iOS device.
- Make sure both devices have updated to Signal version 7.89 or later.
- Make sure both devices have Local Network permission enabled in
iOS Settings > Signal.
- Make sure both devices have Wi-Fi & Bluetooth enabled.
- Make sure both devices have Low Power mode disabled in
iOS Settings > Battery.
- Make sure both device are physically close throughout the process.
- The old device needs a working camera.
- Choose a time when you won't need to use either device for several minutes.
- On your new device, install and open Signal, make your permissions selections, Select Restore or Transfer Account, then select I Have my Old Phone to see a QR code.
- On your old device, tap on the camera button on the top corner of the chat list screen, scan the QR code displayed on the new device, and tap Transfer Account.
- When the transfer is complete, your message history is moved, not copied, to your new device and deleted from your old device.
Can I merge my message history between two devices?
- No. Your message history is moved to your new device. Your old device will be unregistered.
Can I transfer from Signal Desktop to my iOS device?
- No, this is not supported at this time. On your new device, you will have to select the option to Register without Transferring to continue.
Are iCloud backups compatible with Signal?
- No. Only Signal Secure Backups are compatible.
What do I do if I do not have my old device, restored my old device to factory settings, or have a broken camera on the old device?
- iOS to iOS device message history transfer would not be possible without both devices and a working camera on the old device.
Still need help? Check out our troubleshooting page for Device Transfers.