Blocked users will not be able to call you or send you messages through Signal.
Steps to block a number or group:
- Open Signal on your phone.
- Open a conversation thread with this contact or phone number.
- Tap on your contact's name or number in the header.
- Choose Block, Block this user, Block this group.
- Confirm by choosing Block.
- Choose Ok.
- Go back to the conversation thread to see the icon or alert indicating that you have blocked this user.
Steps to view which numbers have been blocked:
Go to Signal Settings > Privacy > Blocked or Blocked contacts.
What happens when I block a contact?
- You will not receive notifications from this contact when you have blocked them.
- This contact is removed from your Signal contact list.
- Your blocked contacts will not know that you have blocked them.
What happens when I unblock a contact?
- You will receive notifications for any calls and messages sent after you have unblocked this contact.
- Messages sent to you while you blocked them will not be resent to your device.
- This contact may reappear in your Signal contact list.
How do I know if I have been blocked?
Signal does not tell you if you are being blocked by someone else. Messages will appear to be delivered if your contact's device was online to receive the message. The person who has blocked you will never see this message.