Archiving allows you to clear your chat list without deleting your messages.
Follow these steps to archive a chat:
Android
To archive
- Open Signal to view your chat list.
- Tap on the chat and swipe to the right or tap and hold and select
Archive from the options at the top.
- You can quickly choose to undo through the alert on the bottom of the screen.
To view archived chats
- Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
- Tap Archived conversations.
To unarchive
- Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
- Tap Archived conversations.
- Tap on the chat and swipe to the right or tap and hold and select
Unarchive from the options at the top.
- You can quickly choose to undo through the alert on the bottom of the screen.
iOS
To archive
- Open Signal to view your chat list.
- Tap on the chat and slowly swipe to the left.
- Select
Archive.
To view archived chats
- Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
- Tap Archived Chats.
To unarchive
- Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
- Tap Archived Chats.
- Tap on the chat and slowly swipe to the left.
- Select
Unarchive.
Desktop
To archive
- Right click on the chat from the "Chat" list screen, or open the chat and click on the 3 dot button on the top right corner.
- Click Archive
or
Select the chat > use the keyboard shortcut ⌘ Shift A / Ctrl Shift A
To view archived chats
- Click on the 3 dot button next to the message compose button, or scroll to the very bottom of the listed Chats on the left column.
- Click View Archive/Archived Chats
To unarchive
- Click on the 3 dot button next to the message compose button, or scroll to the very bottom of the listed Chats on the left column.
- Click View Archive/Archived Chats.
- Select the chat you'd like to unarchive.
- Click the 3 dot button and click Unarchive.
or
- Select the chat > use the keyboard shortcut ⌘ Shift U / Ctrl Shift U